Density counting of neurons

Hi,
I’ve just started using ilastik instead of ImageJ/CellProfiler to count neurons and have so far been pretty impressed! My current workflow is to use pixel classification then object classification but I’m having trouble segmenting clumps of neurons into individual objects (even when using the Hysteresis threshold option). I recently looked into the cell density option (instead of pixel/object classification) and I think this would work well for my purposes. For the next step in my analysis, I need the x and y coordinates of counted objects, is this something that can be determined from the density maps in Python? I have a lot of experience in R but very limited experience in Python. I have hundreds of huge images so I don’t necessarily want to draw a box the size of each of image and export one by one from the GUI. Thanks for your help!
Julie S.
Image 1: Example image with pixel classification prediction map
Image 2: Example image with object classification (large clumps where neurons overlap/are crowded and missing some cells that have a lower threshold than specified but the lower threshold to include those introduce too much noise in the rest of the image)
Image 3: Binary image with object classification

Dear Julie,

Could you upload an image file so we can have a go, please?

Sincerely,

Matthieu

Hi,
Please see attached (embedded?). troubleshooting.tif (4.7 MB) Thanks for your help.
JS

Hi @sadinoj,

welcome to the image.sc community!

That’s quite the challenging data. I can totally see how you end up with lot’s of cells crammed into a single object.

The cell density counting workflow works under the assumption that cells are round and partly overlapping. In order to come up with actual locations you’d have to basically do the same as in object classification (come up with some sort threshold…). So I basically think that you’d end up at the exact same conundrum. :confused: