Dense cell population cell count

Hello,

I need some help with determining the cell count and area of my ganglia. I have very little experience in doing image analysis and could really use some help.
So this is what one of my images looks like

Could anyone point me in the right direction on how to proceed with this image.
I can not get a good separation of my cells because declumping them based on intensity or shape is not working very well.
So what kind of pre-processing do you suggest?

Hello Lieke01,
I would start with the Plugin > Polynomial shading correction , with settings equal to your x,y ratio. from there you should be able to adjust brightness/contrast. That at least would give you a better start to further analysis.
Good luck,
Bob

Hi @Lieke01,

I checked your image. Hope your raw image is better than the one posted here. It is very much possible with CellProfiler too to get the cell count & area. You could look for cellprofiler tutorials available if you are a new user. In addition there are example pipelines in various level that could be downloaded along with their respective images. You could try them to start with, particularly check out fruit fly & translocation pipelines. Though the goal may not be same but with respect to cell segmentation you might check out.

In case you need further helps, let us know. In that case it would great if you share the raw image file here.

Regards,
Lakshmi
Fujifilm Wako Automation (Consultant)
www.wakoautomation.com
For CellProfiler training or optimised pipeline write to,
lakshmi.balasubramanian.contractor@fujifilm.com

Read more on our site.
Yokogawa CV8000 - The Ultimate in Confocal HCS
https://www.wakoautomation.com/products/yokogawa-high-content-imaging

Hi,

Thank you for your suggestions. I have already looked into the translocation pipeline, but I will definitely try to look into the fruit fly one.