Delete particles depending on their size

analyze-particles
imagej
macro
code

Hi everyone, here is my problem

I want to measure the particles distribution on a picture that contains a lot of impurities, in order to measure the distrubution I am using the plugin “2D/3D spatial statistics” made by Thomas Boudier and Philippe Andrew.

I managed to understand more or less how this plugin works, but I have a problem, on my pictures there are a lot of impurities and I have to remove them, removing them manually costs a huge amount of time and I’m sure there is a way to remove them automatically with some coding.

In other words I would like to use a function that could change the color of all particles of a certain size by one other color, or at least invert these particles.

Thank you in advance for helping me, I’m a total beginner in automatization and I’m having a hard time.

Theo.

Good day Theo,

although it was a good idea to post a sample image, there are various problems associated with it:

1. The image appears to be a binary image
    (If your sample image was binary it is’t binary after JPG-compression.)
  2. Please post the original gray-level image (in TIFF or PNG-format)
    (You may also post images as Zip-archives.)
  3. Please don’t post JPG-compressed images
    (JPG-compression introduces artifacts! )
  4. Please indicate what you consider as “impurities”.

Regards

Herbie

Hi Herbie, thank you for your answer !

Here is the original image before I treated it (it originally is a jpeg image, I converted it to png):

[IMAGE DELETED]

My goal is to measure the distribution between the holes and the matrix, unfortunately the contrast difference between the particles and the matrix is not always good, I’m losing several particles during the image treatment.