Data archiving: what format to use, which files to keep?

Hi, I am a data manager for a neuroscience group and we are producing .nd2 files. I wonder how to archive this data.
As you probably know, long term preservation is associated with costs, and we cannot keep the raw data in different formats. We want to be sure we do not loose important information, and we want to be sure the file we archive will still be operable in 10 years (i.e. it would be better to use an open format).

Should we archive the .nd2 files or should we export them in .ome.tiff and archive these exported files ? (or is even another new format better ?)

1 Like

HI, @jcolomb,
welcome to the forum !
It seems to me a file compression problem (raw data took too much space ?).
As long as you use a lossless compression. You can always find a tool in the future to read it. 7Zip is a good tool for this. I tried my images: I lost less than 10 pixels in 3 * 10^8 pixels.

If you insist on using a certain image format. I would say the .ome.tiff is a good option (open-source based). Otherwise, you have hdf5 which has also an internal compression option like gzip.
FYI, NASA is using hdf5 to save satellite images. So it doesn’t likely to disappear in the next decades…

How do you explain that? There should be no loss at all!

Well, maybe it’s the method I used was not appropriate.
I used != with numpy array and you can specify the precision while loading array with numpy.
Potentially, it’s possible the compression itself is really lossless. But my method of array loading is error-prone ?
I didn’t go further, because, frankly, even it’s 10 pixels. It’s nothing, at least in my analysis. I can tolerate this “error”.

The compression should be lossless with 7zip.

hi, thanks for the welcome address and the quick response.