DAB positive cell in different compartments

Dear All,

I am totally new in image analysis and I got few recommendations regarding qupath software for IHC analysis.
I have to quantify CD4, CD8, CD3, CD68 and CD163 positive cells in 20 tumour slides in stromal and tumoral compartments.
I was thinking to take several pictures of each tumor slide for each marker and quantify DAB positive cells in both compartments that I would have previously defined by training (machine learning based method.
As I have only one week for performing those analyses (short time!), I’ve prefered asking qupath community for getting the different steps I should do to get those cell quantifications.

I’ve attached 2 pictures of 2 tumors slides stained with CD163 antibody. Sorry for my basic questions,
I am pretty sure many people did this job! Many thanks for your help

CD163_004_x20-3.tif (6.7 MB) CD163_007_x20-2.tif (6.7 MB)

The first thing I would recommend would be to get your pixel size metadata figured out :slight_smile:
Big cells is not what people usually mean by “big data.” This can be accomplished either by using the original file format for the images (if they were taken as CZI, LIF, etc), or by adding the metadata back in in FIJI. More info here: https://imagej.nih.gov/ij/docs/menus/image.html#properties

Depending on which version of QuPath you are using, some scripts may not work, so I will shy away from that right now, but it is possible to edit the metadata temporarily in a given image with a script. I took a guess that this was taken with a 10x-20x, which usually has a pixel size of around 0.25-0.5 (not usually exact), which gave something more like:

After that it is mostly up to you to play around with the cell detection settings until you are happy with the results. If you have not yet, I recommend Pete’s IHC tutorial. At least running through the first few videos should help a lot.

Heatmap of DAB staining in your first image.