DAB detection and its intensity measurement in cytoplasm using Qupath

Hello everyone,

I have stained my tissue sections using IHC and the stains are Hematoxylin and DAB. I try to detect the positivity (DAB) and measure the intensity of the area. But in my case, the positivity is mainly in the cytoplasm as the protein I am studying has mitochondrial origin. So when I use positive cell detection it gives me a percentage that does not make sense.
I’m wondering how I can detect DAB positivity correctly and measure the Intensity of the positive area. If you think there’s also other software than Qupath that I can benefit from better, please let me know. If you guide me through this I will appreciate it.

Hi @sadaffazeli1995,

Welcome to the forum.

In my opinion QuPath is a great tool for what you are doing based on what I know about it, especially if your images are whole slide.

For one, you can set the positive cell detection to be looking at the cytoplasm only (example shown below). Do you feel you are getting good cell segmentation as this is dependent on that? It might be useful to show what parameters you used and/or provide an example image if you are struggling.

Re: “intensity” measurements of DAB, I’m afraid that there isn’t a quantitative relationship between the darkness of DAB staining and the amount of antigen (the expression of your protein) so it’s not accurate to report the “intensity”. A threshold has to be set in order to say it is present or not (“yes” or “no”) but that’s all really. If you search ‘DAB intensity’ on this forum you will find a lot of discussions and more explanation about this topic.

5 Likes