Creating customisable image windows using imagej 2

Hi, I’m new here, so I’m sorry if my problem has been solved elsewhere - I haven’t found it yet if so! Also, I’m fairly new to Java, having only worked significantly with Python before, so I may be a bit slow.

Tl;dr: I want to be able to set default window size/location, and then copy the two displayed images across to a new window for alignment.

I’m currently trying to develop a plugin for Fiji/ImageJ to allow manual alignment of two quite different images of the same object. Initially, I was trying to create a large GUI with 3 images displayed in it, however moving between different image types for display and import confused things, so I’ve decided to open the two images for manual processing (one is usually very dark), and then overlay these modified images to a new window on a click of a button. I’d like the images to display in fixed-sized windows, preferably next to each other. After that, I need to create a window that displays both, with the upper image movable by mouse.

Are there any ways of displaying images in the way that I want? Most examples use ij.ui().show(), which doesn’t allow me any control over the window. Thank you in advance for any help.

Hello @fish and welcome to the forum,

Actually, I am not sure what you really want to achieve. Maybe you can explain the goal of your image analysis and forget about the technical details first ?

Do you have two example images which you want to align ?

For this specific goal, have a look at BigWarp, it’s fantastic.

That’s a very different goal… and actually this is already achieved in BigWarp.

Best,

Nicolas

1 Like

Hi Nicolas,