Creating a GUI with ImageJ components

imagej

I am new to ImageJ and Java and I am trying to create a GUI that allows users to view and manipulate ImageJ files, like stacks. My idea was to test this by creating a GUI that allows users to click through images in a stack, but if there is a simpler way to practice creating a GUI with ImageJ I am open to ideas. Based on the recommendations of a tutorial in the ImageJ website (https://imagej.net/Developing_ImageJ_in_NetBeans), I downloaded NetBeans and have been attempting to follow the instructions. However, when I attempt step one of “Launch the Program”, I cannot find the “Modules” folder that I am supposed to open. I thought maybe this was related to the Maven error, and so I downloaded Maven but still get an error message when attempting to build the project. It also could be because I downloaded NetBeans IDE 8.2, while the instructions are intended for NetBeans 7.1.2. Or maybe the file on GitHub has been edited since the instructions were written. Unfortunately I don’t know enough about Java, ImageJ, NetBeans, or Maven to know what went wrong or to understand the troubleshooting articles that already exist. If someone could tell me what went wrong an how to fix it (in very simple beginner-level words) that would be awesome.

Good day,

what you intend to do sounds very ambitious for a beginner with Java.

If you explain in detail what you want to achieve and why, we may perhaps be able to propose a more convenient way of doing it.

Regards

Herbie

Hello,

I am working on a project where the end goal is to create a setup which collects images of an object from many angles and merges those to create a 3d image of the object. The purpose of the GUI is to allow the end user of this program to collect images, merge the images, and view the final 3d image from a convenient user friendly platform without interacting directly with the code or manipulating the images in ImageJ themselves.