Create a Z-stack with numpy

Hello everyone, newbie here!

Environment

macOS Mojave 10.14
Fiji Version 2.0.0-rc-69/1.52p
Scikit image version 0.15.0 - April 2019

Context

I tried creating a simple/random 5D image like so:

data_0 = np.random.randint(0, 255, (2, 5, 3, 300, 300), 'uint8')

with tifffile.TiffWriter('path/to/temp.ome.tiff') as tif:
    tif.save(data_0, metadata={'axes':'TZCYX'})

Problem

When I try opening it with Fiji, a have a 300X300 colored image but the SizeZ is 1 and SizeT is 10.

Questions

How do I create a Z-stack using scikit-image and save it as an .ome.tiff file ?
Why does it seem that the specified axes are disregarded by the save() function and the first two integers of the tuple multiplied ?

Thank you very much in advance for your help !

you might get what you want by using imagej=True in the TiffWriter constructor:

with tifffile.TiffWriter('path/to/temp.ome.tiff', imagej=True) as tif:
    tif.save(data_0)

#or directly
tifffile.imwrite('path/to/temp.ome.tiff', data_0, imagej=True)

note however, the bit about dimension ordering from the tifffile docstring:

imagej : bool
      If True, write an ImageJ hyperstack compatible file.
      This format can handle data types uint8, uint16, or float32 and
      data shapes up to 6 dimensions in TZCYXS order.
      RGB images (S=3 or S=4) must be uint8.
      ImageJ's default byte order is big-endian but this implementation
      uses the system's native byte order by default.
      ImageJ hyperstacks do not support BigTIFF or compression.
      The ImageJ file format is undocumented.
      When using compression, use ImageJ's Bio-Formats import function.
2 Likes

Thank you for the fast answer!
However this creates another problem: I am trying to save several of these kind of arrays non-contiguously, which is not supported by ImageJ…

I might need some more detail on that one… can you elaborate with an example?