Counting on image J

imagej

Hello,

I’m new to image J and i’ll try to explain my problem as precisely as i can.
I have to analyse cells on a rat brain image and they appear as black dots on the brain.So i turn my picture into a 8 bit one and use the threshold to make them red.
But when i use the threshold to make them red, some stains on the image and on the brain also become red.

Is there a way to threshold only certains pixels wide things on image J? Or to isolate the little black dots?
Because as far i as know about image J i have to use the paintbrush tool to clear all the stains pixel after pixel.

Please help

Have a look at morphological opening and closing.
https://homepages.inf.ed.ac.uk/rbf/HIPR2/open.htm
https://homepages.inf.ed.ac.uk/rbf/HIPR2/close.htm

Depending on your exact situation, there are also a few other things you could try. If the other stains are in a different region of the brain than the cells, then you could simply crop the image or use some other technique to ignore the region with the stains. Another thing you could try is using the Local Thickness plugin (also provided as part of the BoneJ plugin) after the initial segmentation. This will produce a image where the value of each pixel corresponds to the size of the “object” the pixel belongs to in the segmented image. You could then segment this result to sort by size.

Well it could a lot easier to explain my problem if i could upload pictures… i’ll try the solutions you gave me and keep you updated

Thanks

actually, this would be super useful :wink:

Since i’m a new user, i can’t. Do you know when i’ll be able to upload pictures?

Hi Vincent,
You should be able to as of now since you responded to anothers comment.
Bob

Ok let’s try