Counting number of each annotation in pic

Sorry for such a trivial question, I’m new to javascript. I used classificator and now looking for some way to count how manny annotations of every type my image contains. I tried smth like that:
def viewer = getCurrentViewer()
def imageData = viewer.getImageData()
def hierarchy = imageData.getHierarchy()
var count = 0;
for (entry in hierarchy){
if (entry == ‘alveola’) count+=1;
}
print count

But it looks like hierarchy contains only number of objects and not info about them.
(If my problem is already answered, please link me to it, thanks.)

Hey @Dmitrii,

in which software are you executing that script?

Hey @haesleinhuepf . In QuPath built-in Script Editor.

1 Like

For the current image, this should do it

println getAnnotationObjects.size()

To quickly count all the annotations for every image in a script, there’s a recipe in the documentation:

Probably something like this.

Set classList = []
getAnnotationObjects().each{
    classList << it.getPathClass()
}
//print classList
for (aClass in classList){
println("Class " +aClass+" count: "+getAnnotationObjects().findAll{it.getPathClass() == aClass}.size())
}
1 Like

Sorry, I didn’t read closely enough… an alternative

getAnnotationObjects()
    .countBy { it.getPathClass() }
    .entrySet()
    .each { println "${it.getKey()}\t${it.getValue()}" }
2 Likes

@Research_Associate @petebankhead
Thank you very much for your help! Maybe you can also link me some tutorials in javascript ( especially associated with qupath and WSI processing )?

You’re welcome! But note that QuPath uses Groovy for scripting, not JavaScript :slight_smile:

I linked to the main documentation for QuPath above:

And here are the docs for Groovy:

Indeed. What is this black magic.

3 Likes

Here’s a less magical way of doing the same:

// Get a list of annotations
def annotations = getAnnotationObjects()