Counting neurons

I’m trying to find a good solution for counting neurons like in this picture below. I’m pretty new to image analysis and tried searching for a solution for 3 days now but nothing is working. Can someone help me get on the right track? that would be very apricated. I’ve tried cellprofiler and imagej. But I don’t get the right results. The picture bellow should have 326 cells.

Hi Pixel,

Solution for Fiji:

I would go for a small gaussian filter.
Process > Filters > Gaussian Blur…

Maybe some background subtraction with a rolling ball radius fitting the size of your objects.
Process > Subtract Background

Then maximum detection should do the trick.
Process > Find Maxima…

If this is not sufficient I would then go for Difference of Gaussian or Laplacian of Gaussian Filtering instead of just a Gaussian Blur. If that is still not sufficient try a wavelet based spot detector: icy has a really really nice implementation.

In my analysis I always aim for robust reproducible results. Not Perfection. So if the outcome is close to the manually counted, great. The measurement error you should account for with replicates. Stuff that makes your image analysis better: specific regions of interest with excluding stuff of your images that is uninteresting.

You can also test with small crops of the image so manual counting is faster, try to crop different parts of your brain slice.

Wish you happy blob detection!

2 Likes

@Pixel

1. do not use jpegs for quantitative image analysis… saving as a jpeg corrupts your data. read more on that here.

2. what have you tried thus far in ImageJ? You can check out this older forum post that has helpful links for segmenting in ImageJ.