Counting Fluorescent Bacterial Cells in a Flow

Hi,

I’m an undergraduate student and I am trying to use ImageJ to count the number of fluorescent bacteria cells flowing into and out of a device in a microfluidic channel.

Attached below is a movie file of the inlet of the device that I have converted into an 8-bit TIF format. The device is out of frame just on the right side of this image sequence.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/pu7xob6v7vnzptv/70MHz_4.35W_4_cropped_inlet.tif?dl=0

My goal is to be able to count the number of fluorescent bacteria cells that are flowing into and out of the device (movie above only shows the inlet flow).

Right now, I’m relying on the plugin called ‘Mosaic’ that allows for particle trajectory tracking and counting. Basically, I am currently relying on counting the number of trajectories. However, I find that this method gives inaccurate results as there are problems with trajectory linking.

What is the best way about doing this?

Thanks in advance!

Hi @Johanes and welcome to the Forum!

If your final goal is just counting, a very simple approach is to reslice the image using a line profile and counting the spots in the resulting image.

The image below represents such a reslice using a line across your data orthogonal to the flow of bacteria. The time is in the X direction.

Counting local maxima yields this

Which is the number of bacteria that have crossed the line profile.

If you need more information regarding the bacteria, like speed or velocity or position, then this will not be sufficient.

To try it yourself, you can run this macro on the image you uploaded within Fiji. It will open a results table with the count of bacteria that passed through the line profile.

makeLine(118, 3, 118, 97);
run("Reslice [/]...", "output=1.000 slice_count=1 rotate avoid");
run("Find Maxima...", "prominence=10 exclude output=Count");

Here is the documentation on the reslice function
https://imagejdocu.tudor.lu/gui/image/stacks#reslice