Counting different stages of berries

Hello,
I am very new to imageJ, and this whole field, and am trying to figure out how to take an image of fruit, say blackberries, and then count the different berries at the different stages.

Say, for example, I want to determine what berries are black, green, and pink, and then get a count of all the berries in each category. I am willing to manually go through the image and designate each berry in it’s appropriate stage, but don’t then want to have to go back and count each one.

Anyone have any insight on how to do this most effectively? Happy to hope on a google hangout if easier, willing to reward support with giftcards, and desperately looking for some guidance! Thank you.

If you are willing to manually count the berries, you might want to consider the Points tool in QuPath, where you can make a project for all of your images, and get summary information for the whole set of images.
Starting a project: QuPath Intro: Choose your own analysis(adventure)
Information on Points: QuPath Intro: Choose your own analysis(adventure)
Generating summary measurements:QuPath Intro: Choose your own analysis(adventure)
Most of the second link won’t be necessary for you, just the two scripts that generate a CSV for your whole project, generally with one line per image showing class counts.
If you use version 0.1.3 or later, your counts are tracked for you quite easily, though there are some better ways of generating project level summary information. I would still use the first script to convert the spots to detections due to the easier to read output from the whole project.

Thank you so much. I have been diving in and reading this in depth, but was wondering if you’d be willing to show me a quick video demo if I provided the image? I am ok manually counting the berries now, and hopefully can concurrently be training the system for future counts, if possible.

Using the linked image.