Counting desmin-positive cells with one ore more nuclei

Hi everyone,
I am quite new to CellProfiler. My aim is to identify all desmin-positive myoblasts (cytoplasmic stain) in a cell population stained with HOECHST. For establishing a pipeline I used the published example percent positive as a starting point. However, I end up with two problems and I am not sure how to solve it.
(1) The cells often attach to or even merge into each other. Do you have some suggestions to solve that better than I did?
(2) The cells are myoblasts and often differ in size a lot since some of the myoblasts already start to fuse into multinucleated cells. Thus, in most of the cases, the number of nuclei is higher than the number of myoblasts (cells) identified even if all cells are in fact desmin positive. This would give me wrong percentages but also false negative results. However, size is not a good criteria because mononucleated myoblasts can also vary in size a lot and can be even bigger in size sometimes (it is just a primary cell line :unamused: ). Do you have any idea how to handle this?
I added two pipelines with different classifications and example figures. The example figures contains some nuclei which are not surrounded by desmin stain, but most of them are.
Can anybody have a look and give me some advice?
Thanks a lot!!!
Regards from the muscle site :smiley:
Ann
Desmin10x_19052015_2.cppipe (20.6 KB)
Desmin10x_19052015.cppipe (20.6 KB)

Hi Ann,

I’m attaching a pipeline that should be a decent start. You basically had the right idea, but I added a ReassignObjectNumbers module to attempt to unify nuclei that are actually from a multi-nucleated myoblast. Then MaskObjects is used to check which nuclei overlap by more than a given percentage with a desmin+ region, and filter on that basis.

I emphasize “attempt” in ReassignObjectNumbers since I don’t know the exact criteria to deem two neighboring nuclei as members of the same cell. That is:

• Do they need to be touching?