Counting cells by colour

Hi, I am new to CellProfiler and I would like to use it to count sperm cells that are darkly stained with hematoxylin. The problem is that there are other (lightly stained) cells around the sperm cells that I would like to exclude. I have tried the Unmixcolors module, but it picks up all the cells. Is there a way that I can select the colour and use that to identify the cells I want counted?

I’ve attached one of my images. Thank you for any assistance you can give.

Hi,

Brightfield/histological images are notoriously tough to segment, at least relative to fluorescent images. UnMixColors with Hematoxylin setting seems to work ok for my untrained eye. Please note that the output of this module is simply a grayscale image that you then subsequently are expected to segment using IdentifyPrimaryObjects to actually do the counting.

Does the attached pipeline come close? You can adjust the parameters in IdentifyPrimaryObjects to improve the segmentation. Note especially the Threshold Correction factor, and possibly the “declumping” settings toward the bottom, choosing your own declumping scales.

Cheers,
David
PIPE_DLogan.cp (3.57 KB)

[quote]Is there a way that I can select the colour and use that to identify the cells I want counted?
[/quote]

I forgot to say that you can choose a Custom Stain in UnMixColors, and then either choose the RGB absorbances yourself (hard) or use the “Estimate” button and input your Hema stain (easy). It is not easy to choose a single color mix for a single stain, since depending on illumination, exact staining technique, condition of the sample, etc., the ratios of the RGB absorbances can vary from sample to (otherwise similarly stained) sample.

-D