Compare Images taken with a different zoom

Hello, I’m new to ImageJ/ Fiji and have a small question regarding the analysis of two different groups of images, that were accidentally taken with a different zoom applied to the microscope (zoom in function).

Group 1: No zoom
Group 2: Zoom differs between the value of 2 and 4 (I have the exact value for each neuron).

I’m currently analyzing the raw integrated density and I am comparing their areas. The Problem is, that is that due to the applied zoom, the Area of group 2 is much bigger than the Area of group 1, messing up the results. Taking this in consideration, is there any way to compare the two groups with each other (without losing information of the pixels,etc.)?

If anyone could help, I’d really really appreciate it!
Jan

Information images

Probably, sort of, assuming all else was equal and the flatness of field is good. But it is not normally good practice unless you were careful to keep things like the scan speed, the number of pixels, etc constant.

If you know the pixel sizes, you should be able to do everything in square microns. In FIJI, this can be set in the Image->Properties… tab. Use “um” for microns. That is where you can put the correct “microns per pixel” value that microscopy images should come with (or be known when taking the image).

Or convert areas in pixels to areas in microns at the end of whatever measurement you are doing. Multiply out the pixel size (or relative pixel size) at the end of collecting the data.

Or, take the image with the smaller pixel size (zoomed in), and increase the pixel count proportionally. Image->Adjust->Size will allow you to go from 1024x1024 to 2048x2048. I recommend no interpolation, but to a certain extent, you can’t completely recover or compare the images perfectly.