Compare fluorescent intensity between different images

Hello everyone,

I am still new to Image J, I may need your help on analysing and comparing fluorescent intensity between three samples (mutant, wildtype and control) which may include in a paper. It will be highly appreciated if any of you could help me regarding these questions.

The rodent tissues were first stained with monoclonal antibodies, then with Alexa Flur 488 secondary antibody and DAPI. It gave the brightest green signal in mutant, medium brightness in wildtype and very low signal in control. Those three samples were taken under the same magnification and identical settings under the microscope. I would like to pick five random cells from each sample, calculating their mean value and comparing the mean value among the mutant, wildtype and control.

Since the images were saved in RGB, should I

1. convert the RGB image into separate channel (8-bit) and use only the green channel for more accurate grey value comparison?
  2. draw identical circle on 5 selected cells (e.g. width 50, height 50) on each sample, and get their grey values by adding them in ROI manager–>measure?
  3. use mean grey value or integrated density for comparing the intensity between the samples?
  4. substrate the background value from each sample (i.e. mutant grey value - mutant background value) before comparing among the samples?

It would be great if any of you could give answers on any questions above, or even give a better suggestion on how I should compare in a more reliable or accurate way.

Thank you for all your help in advance!

Here I attached the three images for your reference.
wildtype.tif (3.6 MB)
mutant.tif (3.6 MB)
control.tif (3.6 MB)

If you want quantitative statements in your paper, we need more info before we can judge and help.
How did you record the images? What microscope, what camera?