Command for extracting average out of an array

Hello community! I am pretty new in the world of ImageJ and I also just started developing my own macros. I am currently at a dead end and I need your help.
So, I have an array containing around 15 values and I want to build the sum of them. I tried using some loops, but that didn´t work out.
Also, I only need the value separately, not as an array, so I can then work further with it alone.

1 Like

Hey @ThanosT,

the sum of numbers in an macro array can be computed by the mean in the array multiplied by the number of elements:

numbers = newArray(3, 7, 4, 7, 1);
Array.getStatistics(numbers, minimum, maximum, mean);
number_of_elements = lengthOf(numbers);

sum = mean * number_of_elements;

https://imagej.nih.gov/ij/developer/macro/functions.html#array.getstatistics

Let us know if it works!

Cheers,
Robert

1 Like

It worked out perfectly fine Robert! Danke dir!

I now have a new question… While performing the macro, I now have 3 values which interest me. They all have their string names of course and I want to somehow extract them in excel. The whole process will be looped for multiple images and what I want to end up with, is an excel table with the 3 values I measured from every image.
I am familiar with looping, so this won´t be a problem and I also saw a way of extracting (actually saving) the results in an excel format.
The problems are:

1. I don´t know how to display all 3 values in the result window at the end of each loop (with their respective name).
  2. With this way of extracting the values, I will end up with multiple excel files containing my values for each image and then I have to somehow compress them in one. Is there a faster way of doing this? Maybe displaying the results after looping all the images and then extracting them all together?

I thank you in advance and I totally respect the fact, that this may take a lot of your time to explain it to me.

Greetings from Düsseldorf
Thanos

1 Like