Coding with Fiji

Dear ImageJ Community,

can anybody recommend in what order a beginner should work through the massive amount of tutorials and introductions on how to write advanced code with Fiji? I am already familiar with the Macro language and I am trying to advance into using Java or Python in Fiji. However, as I am a Biologist with only some basic coding background I am struggling on how to coherently work through all these tutorials and the flood of new information can easily get overwhelming.

I would be extremely thankful if anyone could recommend me how to best approach this problem.

Thanks in advance!

In my opinion, the natural evolution from coding in the Macro language is to use any of the available scripting languages. You can use BeanShell, which is like Java but without type declarations, or Python as you suggested.

@disputator1991, I’m in a similar situation, being a biologist with no formal training in coding (except for that nerd camp in high school :slight_smile: ).

I like Python over Java because the syntax and program structure are simpler and there’s no compilation step.

For a while, I was writing Java plugins regularly, and at that time I found the book “Thinking in Java” incredibly helpful.

For Python in ImageJ, I started with Albert Cardona’s tutorial, available in slightly different form here.

As a biologist you’re probably writing code to do some particular task, so IMO it can be more efficient to focus on a short-term goal, and learn what you need to do that task, rather than try to understand everything that the language can do.

I’ve rewritten a couple of my IJ1 macros in Python as an exercise, but usually time pressure dictates that I have to choose either Python or the macro language at the beginning of a project, and learn as I go.