Clear outside of 3D porous object but keep stuffs in pores

Hi everyone,

I’m new in ImageJ. I’m trying to analyse a 3D porous sample. The sample is in water and there are water and air phases in the pores and want to clear the outside of the 3D object but keep the phases in the pores. This means I can’t just use the grey level threshold to select the object. And it is not a standard cylinder in the Z direction so I can’t just create a shape from one slice and cut through. Any tool or plugin in ImageJ can do this?

Thanks

Jerry Wang

@Jerry_Wang

Welcome to the Forum Jerry!

So… I am sorry, but I did not quite follow exactly what you need/want to segment. I do not know your science - so got lost in the jargon a bit (what’s are ‘phases in the pores’?)… And why can’t you use grey levels to segment? (Too - I can only see the top image - the second image did not work when I tried opening it. ??)

But anywho… I assumed you want to segment the light-grey blobs within the circle? So I tried two ways just quickly without much refining… so methods can be improved…

1) Auto-Thresholding using Otsu method (this was without any pre-processing):

2) Using Trainable Weka Segmentation plugin (also works in 3D) …

Perhaps you can clarify things a bit - but hope this helps get you started at least…

Here are some other Segmentation links for ImageJ you might find helpful:

eta :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi Ellen,

Thank you very much for your help! Sorry if I didn’t explain clearly. What I want is to fit the sample with a circle or ellipse, I want to keep everything inside the circle and clear outside. It is a 3D object but the edge of the object is not always the same in the Z direction. So I can’t cut through with the same shape on each slice. Any way to do this automatically on each slice?

Thanks

@Jerry_Wang

Do you want to measure the area of this circle? What is the ultimate goal in doing this?