Choosing filters for mitochondrial segmentation using Trainable Weka Segmentation

fiji
weka
imagej
segmentation

Hi everyone,

I am new to image analysis using FIJI and this forum. I am trying to use TWS (trainable weka segmentation) to classify individual mitochondria in HeLa cells. My problem right now is looking for the right balance of filters, I have looked online for other researchers doing using the same method but could not find any information regarding the filters. I have also looked at the filter list available but I couldn’t really figure out which ones would be suitable for my current experiment.

In my current analysis, firstly I subtract background using 40px rolling ball radius and then used gaussian, sobel, hessian, difference of gaussian, and gabor filters with TWS where processing seemed to take a bit of time. Therefore, I would like to find the balance to not use too many or too little filters.

Here are some of the sample images I took:

z

I would appreciate any suggestions, thank you!

Your images are strongly over-exposed and not suited for image analysis.

Please optimize image acquisition!

Reagrds

Herbie

Hi Herbie. Thank you very much for the quick reply, I will try to take more images with less exposure. Meanwhile I have other images like these which had less exposure:

Would these pictures be suitable or what kind of improvements would you suggest?

Regards,
Nico

Nico,

are you sure the posted sample images are the raw original images?
If not, please post those.

Exposure is much better. Please control via the histogram of the images.
You should use the whole range of 8bit gray values! Better though would be more which requires the 16bit image format.

Furthermore, please tell us exactly what you are interested in beyond segmentation, e.g. number, size, position etc.
Please tell us for at least one of your sample images what makes one of these dots a mitochondria and what not, i.e. just encircle the structures you are interested in.