Changing the voxel size in Napari

Hi everyone,

I’m a very early Napri user and it looks very very powerfull. I’m playing first with different layers in order display/hide some channels change their brightness/contrast/gamma. Very easy with my tiff images.

I’m a totally Python newbie, I never use it since I try to use Napari. It was difficult for me to understand everything even just to instal it (the code to use, where to write it,etc.) But now, it work and it’s cool !

Now I’m playing with orthogonal views and 3D but my voxels aren’t isotropic and I’m looking for changing their ratio. And last, I’m playing with lightsheet 3D images and I’m asking if the images are shown in pyramidal view or not.
I’ve tried to see some post / tutorial about these different things but I don’t understand it and I don’t know where I have to write the line code to do it could someone help me ?

Thanks,
Nicolas

1 Like

Hi,

the trick here is to use the scalefactores. Have a look here:

Read_and_Display_Images_using_Widgets_and_Napari.ipynb

In principle it goes along those lines below. You just have to know what the “scalefactor” between XY and Z ist. For example is your xy scaling is 0.1 micron / pixel and z is 0.3 micron per pixel, that factor is 3.

In the example below I retrive taht factor always automatically from the metadata.

# configure napari viewer manually - check array shape and dimensions order carefully 

# get the scalefactors
scalefactors = imf.get_scalefactor(metadata)
print(scalefactors)

viewer = napari.Viewer()

# add every channel as a single layer
for ch in range(metadata['SizeC']):
    chname = metadata['Channels'][ch]
    channel = array[:, :, ch, :, :, :]
    clim = [channel.min(), np.round(channel.max() * 0.85)]
    # add channel as a layer
    viewer.add_image(channel,
                     name=chname,
                     scale=(1, 1, 1, scalefactors['zx'], 1, 1),
                     contrast_limits=clim,
                     blending='additive',