Changing 'Point' tool to 'Circle' tool

Hi everyone,

I am in the midst of analyzing fluorescent micrographs, and I want to measure fluorescence intensity of numerous regions in the same micrograph.

I am currently using the Point tool + Measure to record a single pixel’s information, but I want to expand it to a 2-dimensional circular area of constant size. I know that I can use the ‘Oval Selection’ tool repeatedly, but since it is a scalable tool, I am finding it difficult to draw perfect circles of identical radii in an efficient way. I want to measure many dozens of points per micrograph, and have about 100 micrographs to analyze.

Ideally, I want to be able click on a particular spot and for it to automatically draw a circular area of a defined (constant) size repeatedly. I’m completely new to macros and the like, and haven’t figured out a way of doing this.

If anyone has any ideas please let me know!

Hello Sliving -

I do not believe that Fiji / ImageJ has built-in support for purely
circular Rois or a tool for drawing them. But it should be easy
to do what (I think) you want with a simple script or macro.

Take a look at this old thread:

Draw circles on pre-defined point annotations …

and the IJM macro outlined in its second post.

If you think you might be comfortable working with macros (or
scripts), see if you can get started with that macro. See how far
you can get, and then post what you have with further questions.

The following doesn’t match exactly what that macro does, but
would it make sense to use a work-flow where you use the Point
tool to select a series of point Rois, adding each one to the Roi
manager using the RoiManger’s Add button? (Or you could use
the Multi-point tool to select a single multi-point Roi and add it
to the RoiManager.) You could then loop over the points in the
RoiManager, and – as in the macro referenced above – add a
series of circular Oval Rois to the Roi manager.

Thanks, mm