Changing file names based on array/matrix position

Hi all,

I’m pretty new to FIJI/ImageJ and am just starting out writing macros, so hopefully this is an easy question. I have a file directory where the tif images are named in a specific order, and want to rename them such that two numbers from the original filename are converted to another two numbers in the final filename. There’s no mathematical operation for the conversion, but it is structured and predictable (i.e. we have a key), so we’re currently using a series of if/else statements to rename the files as we iterate through the files in the folder.

Here’s an example for the first three if/else statements, plus the code beforehand for a bit of context. This is for 36 fields, so there are 36 if/else statements total.

for (fieldCounter = 0; fieldCounter < 36; fieldCounter++) //for loop to iterate through finalFieldArray
{
currentMoveField = finalFieldArray[fieldCounter]; //sets current field being moved to temporary stitch directory
print("Current field being renamed to tile form: " + currentMoveField); //print statement to print current field being renamed
oldPath2 = finalMergePath + “/” + currentMoveField; //creates oldPath2 to hold old location of currentMoveField
oldFieldStartIndex = indexOf(currentMoveField, “f”) + 1; //finds starting index of currentMoveField
oldField = substring(currentMoveField, oldFieldStartIndex, oldFieldStartIndex + 2); //takes substring of currentMoveField to find oldField
print("Field before rename: " + oldField); //print statement to print old field
if (oldField == “00”) //series of if/else if statements to rename currentMoveField
{
newField = “21”;
}
else if (oldField == “01”)
{
newField = “22”;
}
else if (oldField == “02”)
{
newField = “16”;
}