Cell Size Measurements

Hello,

First and foremost, I am very new to microscopy, and even more so with CellProfiler, so I apologize if this question is basic. I am working with someone in my lab on measuring the area of satellite cells, and I’m running into some problems with the analysis picking up too much of the background. I have gone through the CellProfiler tutorials, and have done some other ones, but I have yet to figure out how to get my pipeline to quit picking up so much noise.

The images I have taken were done using brightfield microscopy, and I think therein lies the problem. The background of the image and the cells are similar on the grayscale, and thresholding is almost impossible. My question then is, is there a module that will allow me to better differentiate between background and foreground? Or would it be better if we just retake our images with fluorescence so we can separate the two?

As this is my first post, I am unable to attach any files, but they will follow in a subsequent comment.

Thank you,
Zack

Here is one of my images, and my current pipeline:
Snap-1165.tif (2.8 MB)
SC Pipeline.cppipe (7.8 KB)

Thanks for any help or advice,
Zack

Hi @rolo0024,

Thanks for your message and congrats on getting into microscopy and image analysis. I think it’s a fun world to explore!

I think you are exactly right that segmenting these cells will be challenging in CellProfiler due to the intensity values not being very different. Check out the two posts below, which offer you some options – some things to try inside CellProfiler, and if that doesn’t work, how to train an ilastik pixel classifier to help identify and measure your cells in CellProfiler. Good luck and hope this helps!

Pearl

2 Likes

Thank you @pearl-ryder! I will look into these and post a comment on where things are at. I appreciate the advice!

Zack

Hi @pearl-ryder,