Cell detection with DAB, hematoxylin and DAPI

Hi, I’m pretty new to IHC and I’m currently trying to analyze my data. I have brain tissue slides that have been stained with DAB and counterstained with DAPI or hematoxylin. I counterstained my slides with DAPI first and if DAPI did not work, I used hematoxylin. I’m trying to quantify the percentage of cells that are DAB-positive.

I tried using the positive cell detection in QuPath and it seemed to work fine with DAB/Hematoxylin, but did not work with DAB/DAPI.

I have QuPath and ImageJ installed, so if you have any suggestions/links on how to quantify DAB-positive cells in either software, that would be great.

DAB_DAPI.tiff (9.0 MB) DAB_hematoxylin.tiff (9.0 MB)

Hmm, your DAB-DAPI image seems to be flattened? I’m not sure if QuPath (or I) am opening it correclty, but it should be Brightfield + 1 fluorescent channel, right? I’m seeing it as a flattened RGB image, which mostly defeats the primary advantage of the DAPI channel.

*If nothing else, I’d use pairs of images, cell detection on the DAPI image, and then transfer the objects over to the brightfield image. It should be quite easy since the images are already aligned.

I noticed that when I tried to do cell detection on the DAB_DAPI image, it generated a 0% positive value…is that the same as a flattened image? I do have the brightfield and DAPI images saved separately. When you say transfer the objects to the brightfield, is that workaround the same idea as using positive cell detection?

Flattened meaning you have turned the gray scale DAPI image into blue… which mixes in with all of the brightfield colors. What that means practically is that segmentation of negative cells is easy, but positive staining will chop up your nuclei since the DAPI is now obscured.

If the DAPI is it’s own channel or image, the DAPI will not have the DAB in the way.

Notice what happened to the upper cell.