Cell count

Hi there,

I’m new to CellProfiler and I’m having some diffuclities.
I need to count cells (macrophages) after a migration assay using a Boyden Chamber.
I tried to build a pipeline but the problem is that the identifyprimary doesn’t identify cells but background, and when I invert the pic with ImageMath/Invert result is the same. I don’t understand why. How can I identify all of the cells in the picture?

I attached a relevant picture as example. Cells were stained with Eosin and Methylene Blue, but picture is in gray scale as we only have a black-and-white camera. Small circles we can observe on pic are migration-membrane-pores and should not be interpreted as cells.

I would really appreciated any help.

Thank you,
Nolwenn

Inverting the image prior to cell identification is the right approach. I would suggest changing the threhsolding method (perhaps Otsu, 3-class with the middle class set to background) and adjust the threshold correction factor upwards as needed. Perhaps adjust the min/max diameter to 20 (min) to 50 (max) as well.

Regards,
-Mark

The only thing I would add to Mark’s comment is that if you could add nuclear marker (e.g. DAPI, Hoechst), it would be much easier. I had tried a few image pre-processing tricks (Enhance Dark Holes in EnhanceOrSuppressFeatures, e.g.), but a different marker which does not adjoin other cells would help a lot I think. Perhaps even instead of Eosin?
-David

Many thanks for your advice. I gonna try a Dapi staining.
-Nolwenn

Hello,

I stained my cells with Dapi (1/1000), instead of Eosin, but I still have some difficulties to identify all of the cells. And, unfortunately, pores are also stained.
You will find enclosed two pictures I obtained, as well as the best pipeline I was able to build. Please, could you give me some advice to improve my pipeline?

Many thanks,

Nolwenn
Pipeline_Dapi20x_2013.06.26.cp (8.13 KB)

Hi,