Calculation of positive pixels

Hi!
I am new at imagej, and have some issues
I need to calculate the positive (brown) area over total stained area in percents. The black holes are removed by me in imagej and should not be counted as a part of the area.
I ve used color threshold to select the brown areas

Measurement set

and as a analyze result i get only number of selected pixels.
What am I doing wrong?
Thanks in advance

Good day,

what other do you expect to get than the number of “brown” pixels?

If you know the distance of the pixels in your image in physical units, you can use the ImageJ scale feature to get areas in physical units otherwise you get it in pixels^2.

If your problem actually is a different one, you need to explain it more clearly.

Regards

Herbie

PS:
I hope your original images are not JPG-compressed (which is a no-no for any kind of scientific image analysis).

1 Like

What i wanted to do, is to get a fraction: brown pixels/all pixels in the ROI. ROI is everything but these black areas. The problem is that currently black areas are calculated as a part of ROI.

My current updated solution is that I convert the image to 32bit image, use threshold to get brown (dark) pixels, then use the same threshold to get all the pixels except the black ones, and then simply divide these numbers manually.
Seems a little bit primitive, but works fine

Are there any advanced solutions? As I understand, ImageJ cannot make a transparent background?
What is the best format for scientific image analysis? TIFF?

My current updated solution is that I convert the image to 32bit image

I agree that your approach is perfectly ok.
What else do you want?

Seems a little bit primitive, but works fine

???

Are there any advanced solutions?

What do you mean?
Why aren’t you happy with the results you get?

Yes TIFF, especially if you work with ImageJ.