Calculating Raw Integrated Density of Thresholded Image -- Odd Results

I am very new at using macros for image analysis. I would love any help troubleshooting my current problem. I have written a macro to calculate the sum of the pixel values in each of multiple ROIs in a single image. (I believe this is called the raw integrated density.) I attempted to make the macro only sum pixels above a certain threshold (50). However, I got strange results. With a threshold of 50, I got multiple ROIs with a value of “NaN,” which doesn’t make sense if RawIntDen is a sum. With a threshold of 0, I got no NaN values, but when I removed any threshold language entirely, I got values that in many cases were smaller than the 0 threshold values, which again makes no sense if RawIntDen is a sum! Am I misreading what RawIntDen is? Please help me fix my macro. Thanks!

//duplicate image and change to 8 bit
run("Duplicate...", "title=Duplicate.tif");
run("8-bit");

//Threshold image
run("Threshold...");
setThreshold(50, 255);
selectWindow("Threshold");
run("Close");

//Select all ROIs in the Manager
selectWindow("ROI Manager");
count=roiManager("count");
array=newArray(count); 
for(i=0; i<count;i++) { 
        array[i] = i; 
} 
roiManager("Select", array);

//Calculate Raw Integrated Density for all ROIs
run("Set Measurements...", "integrated limit redirect=None decimal=0");
roiManager("Measure");
String.copyResults();

ok… just a quick check - but are you running ‘Measure’ on the original image? be sure you select that guy again and aren’t running it on your mask…

so somewhere in the beginning - before you duplicate:

id = getImageID(); // get original image id

and then to measure on your original dataset (something like this):

selectImage(id); // activate original image
roiManager("Show All with labels"); // overlay ROIs
roiManager("Deselect");
roiManager("Measure"); // measure on original image

Just a thought - though I haven’t run/tested your code at the moment…

eta

1 Like