Bug in IO_-3.0.4, analyze files gets saved upside down

Hello Curtis,

I am writing you today because of a bug I’ve discovered in the plugin you are maintaining that allows the saving of analyze files (“Analyze…”). I’ve noticed that the files are being saved upside-down from their original orientation. Upon further inspection of the source code I’ve noticed that it flips all the images in the stack upside-down then initializes an instance of FileSaver to save it before flipping it back again (line 54~64 in Analyze_Writer.class). Is it possible for this to be fixed?

Sincerely,
Michael Chang

PS. I have a feeling that because Fiji is open source, this is something I could do as well, but I have no experience how to contribute to an open source project. thanks in advance!

In accordance with ImageJ’s support philosophy, may I please make this thread into a public community one?

Yes you may, I don’t mind. Thanks for the quick response!

@mcax It is possible. Unfortunately, I do not currently have the bandwidth to work on it myself.

The page How to contribute to an existing plugin or library offers a walkthrough on how to contribute changes to a plugin. If you get stuck, you can post your specific desired changes as a patch here on the forum, and someone else can commit them for you.

@mcax,

Are you sure its a bug?

The explicit flipping suggests there’s a reason for it (it’s easier to not-flip, after all), and file formats for medical images can get complicated. Off-hand, it might be that the flipping could be an attempt to deal with radiological vs neurological coordinates (?).

I just bring this up in case you’re not familiar with these conventions / difficulties.

Consider reaching out to Guy Williams (looks like this is the right one) who appears to have written the code originally.

John

EDIT: I presume you were referring to the code below with the explicit flipping right?

1 Like