Better Identification of particles using CellProfiler + memory problems

Hello there,

I’m quiet new to Cellprofiler and currently working on a pipeline to identify and quantify particles on TEM-pictures. I faced major problems because the background is so noisy and my particles have low intensities. However I managed to develop a pipeline that identifies most of my particles and ignores background and “tinies” (small particles, that form as well during particle creation). I attached my pipeline as well as an example TEM picture. Still I have a problem when analyzing more than one picture. Since my background is so noisy and my particles are low in intensity i need to adjust my identification treshold for every single picture, what is with the amount I’m working with a little annoying. Is there a more elegant way to solve this problem? Another problem is, that my pipeline takes ages to work and actually stops working after the second or third picture out of memory problems and I couln’t figure out how to get it running. Last but not least I’m facing problems when saving my results. CellProfiler is overwriting my results of the first picture with the results of the second picture. I know that there is a way to manage this, but I didn’t find out yet. I’m thankful for any afford and apologize for the english, it has been a while since my last english lesson :slight_smile:

best regards
NW_Felina

I’m running Cellprofiler 3.1.8 on windows 8

particleIdentification.cpproj (652.2 KB)
AT_V211_DOE3_Probe4_20x_4b.tif (16.1 MB)

Welcome! And nice English :blush:

I’m not at a computer so I can only help with the last question: CellProfiler is designed to handle huge experiments so it only saves the data you specify. When you say it is overwriting your data for each image, I suspect that actually you are referring to the results windows showing each cycle’s data? If so, that is perfectly normal because those are just for you to see what is going on during processing.