Beginner Colocalization Pipeline Adaptations and Questions

cellprofiler

Hello!

My name is Alex and I’m new to using CellProfiler. Briefly, I’m a neuroscientist who does Fluorescent In Situ Hybridization and am looking for a good way to quantify our data using CellProfiler. It seems to do a great job with what we need, although I am struggling with the settings for some of the pipeline and I’m hoping I could get some help. This is all taken straight from the colocalization example pipeline provided online and parameters adjusted slightly.

I’m including some pictures with this post to show my dilemma. First off, we have two channels we’re looking at: CTB-555 (Soma) and DAPI (Nuclei). One picture is the whole image view (high-res Grey-Scale MAX projection Z-stack TIFF taken on a confocal), one is a zoomed in view of our area of interest, and one is of the settings I’ve used in the IdentifyPrimaryObjects module. (NOTE: I could only upload 5 pictures, so the settings for the DAPI were the same as in the example pipeline except typical diameter range changed to 5-10)

If I’m not mistaken, this module is an especially critical module to get right since that really sets the detection settings that will determine what gets selected in each channel before processing and quantification. Based on the few detection settings I changed it definitely got better in identifying the Soma in the CTB channels, but noticed it still missed some cells. If you look at the zoomed photo (Soma_Zoom) you can see cells near the middle of the image that are outlined in purple that aren’t counted as CTB+.