Basic questions on the User Guide

Hi everyone! I am very new to DLC and am struggling a lot. If someone could answer some basic questions I have, it would be very helpful.

1. Could someone elaborate on what does num_shuffles and shuffle index mean? I understand that num_shuffle is used to create multiple splits, but why would someone want to do that?

2. While following the modules posted on the summer course 2020, I came across this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WXCVr6xAcCA. Why is shuffle index selected to be 2 in step 5 train network? How do you decide by looking at the log which is the best model?

3. How do you decide what p-cutoff value is optimal?

Thank you so so much in advance for taking out the time to answer these questions! Really appreciate it.

1 Like

Hi Sarah, welcome to DLC and the forum.

Could someone elaborate on what does num_shuffles and shuffle index mean? I understand that num_shuffle is used to create multiple splits, but why would someone want to do that?

So the idea is you want to make replicates to test how good a network is, just like an experiment in the lab. Here, shuffles are different pools of images for training/testing. When you label and then create a training set, the default is 95% goes to training, and 5% of your labeled data is held out for testing. That is how you get the blue and red lines in the plots (Mathis 2018, 1 shown below). The multiple +'s (more faint) are the 3 replicates, i.e. shuffles. So, you would want to do this if you are trying to test performance.
So, you can train shuffle=1 or shuffle=2, etc and run evaluation on this. Index is just that, the index of what shuffle is i.e. [1, 2, 3] or [4, 5, 6] you can fetch index=0 and that would grab 1 or 4, respectively.