Automatically Detecting transcription sites in image stacks and measuring

Hi there,

I’m a pure biologist and the idea of coding and ImageJ intimidates me a bit,…

I’ve performed flourescence in situ hybridization to a cancer cell line and taken images of these cells in 3D (76 Z plane stack images per field). I need to analyze, for 400 cells X 3, how many transcription sites each cell has, how big they are (area) and what their intensity is. A cell can have from 0-3 sites, and each site’s optimal resolution may be on a different Z plane. I can’t simply make a circle around the site and hit “measure” because the sites are not perfect circles.

Is there a plugin that I could run in which I could tell them what a site looks like/a minimum brightness threshold that could be a site, and the program will find all the sites for me and measure them per cell? It feels silly to do this analysis by hand in the year 2016 when so much great software is out there…

Thank you so much for your help!

here’s a link to the stack: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B46t8Vo1yrqzLUE4VDREcGFWNFk/view?usp=sharing

Hello @git.rei

Welcome to the Forum!

This sound like a segmentation task. Maybe with some model learning.

If you could post one example stack it would be easier to get you started.

please post representative example images with comments and respect the fact that doing things by hand need not be silly, even in 2016.

Best

Herbie

here are two representative stacks, one with smaller sites and one with larger…to me, it is clear what are sites and what are artifacts (sites are more ‘bright’), is there a program that can help me with measuring there number and area/intensity (in pixels and hue)?

i see these are images and not stacks…I don’t know how to upload stacks :confused:

If it is not possible to upload the stacks directly you could use dropbox/googledrive or another online storage.

please tell us something about what is what.