Automatic cell counting instead of using pointer tool

Dear qupath users, I am new to this program and I am wondering if there is a way to preform automatic cell counting instead of using the pointer tool. There are three different cell types with a different gradation in coloring. Might it be possible to use pixel classifier for this purpose?

If there were always empty space between cells, I would say you would have a good chance with the pixel classifier, and especially with the Annotation Boundaries options…
But with many of the cells touching, and in some cases the staining getting much darker, much lighter, or with no change in intensity at all, I think you will have a tough time without an actual deep learning model. I could be wrong, but I don’t think the pixel classifier can both handle the amount of fine detail you would need to find the borders and the context you would need to identify the whole cell pixels.

If you have a lot of samples, feel free to try and let me know how it goes, but you may want to reconsider your staining strategy if you want to automate in QuPath. @petebankhead might have something better, but I’m not seeing it right now.

Is the image a whole slide image, or something smaller from a microscope?

If they are not whole slide images, QuPath could still be a good choice - but you might also find other software works as well or better.

For example, it looks like a case where QuPath’s pixel classification could be a good starting point, but there might also be other ways through ImageJ/Cell Profiler (e.g. using ImageJ’s Find Maxima command, after applying some initial smoothing).

It would be good to outline a bit more about the overall aim, the kind of images involved and their variation, the outputs required (just counts or also areas or intensities?), and the numbers of images (e.g. to help identify if the solution needs to be fully-automated, or if it can use a combination of automated and manual steps).