Automatic Cell Count using Z-stack .oib image file

Hey guys,
I am pretty new to cellprofiler. I have been trying to create a pipeline for automatic cell counts. We use a confocal microscope to take z-stack (3d) images that are saved in an .oib file. Currently we are using three channels (DAPI, Alexa488, Alexa594) so I am trying to separate the individual channels from that one big .oib file and then use “MakeProjection” to create a flattened image of the z-stack per channel.
Then I used the “EnhanceOrSurpress” on the DAPI images so far and they came out pretty good.
The problem I am encountering is when I try to use “IdentifyPrimaryObject” for some reason I cannot get the advanced settings tweaked to pick up anything from my image. Whenever I change it to not use advanced settings it picks up some particles but I would like to use the advanced settings to pick up all of my cells.
Thank you very much for all your help!
Here is my .oib picture that I am trying to work on:

CellCount_Test_pipeline.cpproj (1.0 MB)

Hi @Sunnyschlecht,

From a quick look, it appears that your lower bounds for your thresholds may be set too high and so it’s excluding all staining.

It’s also worth mentioning that with CellProfiler it’s generally best to make the projections in a separate pipeline, since the image won’t be ready for analysis until all images have been processed. Per the help dialog for the MakeProjection module:

Keep in mind that the projection image is not immediately available in subsequent modules because the output of this module is not complete until all image processing cycles have completed. Therefore, the projection should be created with a separate pipeline from your analysis pipeline.

Generally, we’d approach this by running the MakeProjection module and then SaveImages to write that projection into a file. Those projected images can then be used in an analysis pipeline.