Automated counting of cytosolic proteins in immunofluorescence images

Hello,
I’m trying to write a macro to count the number of positive cells to a specific cytosolic protein. I would like to know how many total cells there are and how many of these have the specific cytosolic protein. I did it for nucleic proteins but I don’t know how to do it for cytosolic proteins

Dear Sara1,

it would be great if you could post example images in order for the community to see what your problem looks like.

Also if you could briefly describe the existing analysis could help us to understand what you want to measure.

Cheers,
Christopher

CTRLPOS_20x_DAPI CTRLPOS_20x_EpCAM
Thank you for your answer. The blue image is a Dapi and the second one use EpCam, a cytosolic protein. I would like to know how many cell express the cytosolic protein.
I know I can measure the percentage of “green” area but I am interested in the number of cells.
I’m completely new to the world of image analysis and imageJ. I hope someone can give me an idea to continue my work

The main problem in your images will be to separate the individual cells.
For this I would segment or detect the nuclei and use them as seeds for a marker controlled watershed. Since you don’t have a channel that delineates the borders of the cells I would go for
Process > Find Maxima with the Segmented particles option based on the nuclei channel: https://imagej.nih.gov/ij/docs/guide/146-29.html#Flo:Maxima-outputs

The result is a binary mask and you can get the cells as ROIs then using the particle analyser: Analyze > Analyze particles: Add to ROI Manger.

Once you have generated the ROIs you could measure the intensity in your marker channel. Based on a “threshold” on what is defined a positive cell you can then count them. You can also subtract the area of the nucleus from the measurement using some tricks. But test if the segmentation is doable first.