Aut Correcting stack of images with differing zoom factors

imagej
plugin

Hi All

I’m a noob at this so sorry if it’s a dumb question. I’ve spent some time searching and can’t find the answer.

I’m taking stacks of photos with my microscope and as the lens moves closer to the image, the result is a small movement to the right and a slightly larger image for each of the pictures.

The horizontal shift is easily fixed using Plugins>Registration>Liner stack alignment with SIFT. This does a great job.

This leaves the differing zoom factors for each image in the stack. The last image is about 30% bigger than the 1st and so after focus stacking the halos are quite bad.

Is there a plugin that will analyze the images and convert them all to the same size based on the object it finds?

Thanks for reading…

Steve

I suspect that your stage is out of centre. It can probably be fixed but you need to have the microscope seen by a technician or if you feel confident, dismantle the stage from the body (usually just one screw), then clean carefully the joining mechanism (usually it is a sliding piece of metal forming a dove-tail-like join) and reassemble it.
What kind of microscope is this? 30% difference? I find that figure very odd unless it has a “zoom” kind of optics. Please post some photos. Are you sure you are imaging the same slides? If your image is exactly focused on the same specimen, you cannot get a “30% larger image”; the focal point is fixed by the lens design, and so you should be at exactly the same distance of the object.

Good day Gabriel,

as far as I remember, the OP uses a smart-phone camera (see here).

I have no idea how the OP operates this camera on a microscope but I’m pretty sure that exactly this problem causes the described effects.

Greetings

Herbie

I see, well in that case it will be very difficult to do any robust imaging out of it.

Hi both