Apply mask to all channels

Hello - I’m pretty new to image analysis - enjoying learning my way around skimage. I think what I’m trying to do is pretty simple and I’m getting caught up trying to apply an image mask to all channels of a 3-band image and then performing operations on the masked data. Unfortunately I can’t share the image and it’s in a proprietary format stored as bands x Lines x Line Samples I have a working reader and function that extracts the image data and returns it as rows x col x channels - the image plots fine and I think the extraction is good. I also have four binary masks each using a specific threshold. I want to apply each mask in turn to all channels of a series of images. I have the code below working, but it’s not particularly efficient.

I’m not exactly clear on what happens with the mask is applied - I’m assuming that the masked areas are converted to ‘0’. I don’t want the masked pixels to be included in the flattened arrays I’m feeding into Pandas. Is there a way of converting these to masked arrays? I was also thinking of adding a constant to all image data values, applying the mask, re-writing out all non-zero elements in the masked image into new arrays and then subtracting the constant - but that is going to be really inefficient with large data sizes.

Thank you for any help and suggestions!

Sample code

fnamelist = ['/path/to/PDS/IMG/image.IMG']

mask = skimage.io.imread('/path/to/mask.png')
mask = mask[:,:,0] #use only one channel of this file for the mask
mask[:10] =177 #set the first 10 lines of the mask to 177

def IMG_to_skimage(fname, **kwargs):
    """
    Imput a .IMG file with an attached label and output a lines x line samples x bands np array in radiance values 
    """
    data = pdr.read(fname)
    im =  data['IMAGE']
    rad = data['LABEL']['PROCESSING_PARMS']['RADIANCE_SCALING_FACTOR']
    im_rad = ((im[0]*rad[0]), (im[1]*rad[1]), (im[2]*rad[2]))
    return np.dstack((im_rad[0], im_rad[1], im_rad[2]))