Apple M1 or Intel

I’m sorry if this question already exists on this forum, but my computer is not in good shape and I need to buy a new one ASAP. I’ve had a Mac for years, so will likely stick to Mac as I’m already quite entrenched. I am a new graduate student and I will be doing quite a bit of image analysis. A lot of it will be done on in-lab PCs with faster processing, but for basic things like writing Python scripts, viewing or analyzing data in napari or Fiji, I hope to use my Mac.

I am wondering what problems people have run into with the Apple M1 chip and whether others would advise sticking with the Intel chip for now, even if they will be obsolete in the future. Thanks in advance for any insights!

1 Like

Oh boy what a can of worms.

I’ve heard and seen great things about M1 macs, BUT if you are planning to need a lot of memory beware! They are limited to at most 16GB RAM, and should a process need more they’ll magically use space on their SSD for that. That is not much a problem in terms of performance, as far as I understood, but it generates lots more read/write for the SSD than normal usage. The question that nobody has of today answered is whether that is so much more to compromise the longevity of the drive, as SSDs have a life span of a certain number of read and write operations. If you know you’re not dealing with huge files so often, that’s one less concern!

I had to choose whether to go for M1 or Intel right the week the M1 were revealed, I ended up choosing Intel, mostly as I read that M1 were not supporting multiple displays. I didn’t have the courage to check if it’s still the case nowadays :slight_smile: but I’d recommend you to find out in case that could be an issue as well.

My 2 euro cents, in case it can help! I can’t say if the software is all already 100% functional on Big Sur, hopefully someone else can.

2 Likes

Thanks for your response! Definitely helpful to think about the RAM.