Annotation

Hi,

is it possible to specify annotation columns outside CPA (for instance in setup.SQL or in db.properties) ?

this would be really important, because then we could automatically mark all wells that contain controls for all plates!

doing this manually for all plates is not really an option…

thanks,
Tischi

Hi Tischi,

We usually handle this for large scale experiments by manually uploading a separate database table with all our Per_Image metadata columns (compound/hairpin/control, dose, etc). Then the simplest method is to JOIN the tables by adding the metadata columns onto the Per_Image table. CPA then has access to these columns fro GROUP or FILTER operations.

This is the procedure we use for MySQL databases, at least, and though I have limited experience with sqlite, I assume the same procedure would be useful.

The other, equivalent method would be to use LoadData instead of LoadImages, and add metadata columns directly into the CSV that is used.

But, to your question, yes, I don’t see why you couldn’t add (manually, or via custom scripts) to your Setup.SQL database queries to JOIN pre-configured metadata tables that contain your Control wells.

Does that help?
David

Hi David,

in fact i already do have all the necessary Metadata columns in the per_image table.

what i would like to do is to select them in:

Plate Viewer…Annotation: Annotation Column

to highlight, for instance all wells, that share a specific Metadata.

in my version of CPA one can only manually click on Wells in the Annotation tool.

Best, Tischi

basically i can use my Metadata in

Plate Viewer…Filter

but i would like to use it in the same way in

Plate Viewer…Annotation

(because then i can still see the values of the other wells)

…a guess:

maybe if a column in the per_image table starts with the letters:

“User_”

then it qualifies as an Annotation column?!

if that is true, what would i have to put in empty rows?

“”

?!

ok,

starting a column name with

User_