Analyzing large images takes long

Hi there,
I am analyzing relatively large images (16bit, 2160x2160, 9132KB - generated by ImageXpress/Mol Dev) and it takes forever for CellProfiler to run a pipeline (>5min for 1 set of 3 images). Does it make sense to you?
Thanks for your advice,
Noga

Hi Noga,

Unfortunately, we can’t answer your question without also seeing the pipeline that you are using, plus the 3 images (I assume there are other wavelenths involved?). Could you upload it to this forum thread? If you need to make additional posts in this thread to upload large images, then go ahead and do so.

Thanks!
-Mark

Hi Mark,
This is a half-baked pipeline, I am just learning…
Indeed the 3 images are DAPI, GFP and TRIC. The goal of the pipeline is to record the intensity of the GFP in the areas defined by the TRITC channel.
i uploaded the CP file and 2 more images for your review.
Thanks for your help,
Noga

Elazar pipeline_1.cp (14.4 KB)

Hi Noga,

Apologies for the slow reply. I am attaching an updated pipeline for you to try. You had what I believe were extraneous IdentifyPrimaryObjects modules, which are computationally expensive and slowed CP down. Take a look at the pipeline and see if it does what you want. There appear to be GFP positive cells which don’t have obvious nuclear counterparts, which seems odd to me, but maybe that makes sense for this assay.

As far as the speed issue, my pipeline takes about 1 minute to run for this single cycle. This is typical for CellProfiler. For high-throughput use, we utilize a computing cluster here at Broad and thus can parallelize the computations by 1000+ fold. A newer version of CellProfiler, not released yet, can run multiple parallel threads on a single machine utilizing multiple CPU cores which does speed up processing significantly, but on the order of a factor of 2-3 depending on your setup, I think. But for HT screening, a cluster solution is the best solution (though often not trivial to set up).