Analyzing cell layer thickness

imagej
retina

Hello,
I’m new to image processing and i’ve encountered a problem I can’t solve.
I have either histology or immunohistochemistry images of retina, in which the cell layers have been labeled and my mission is to define the borders of one specific cell layer (the thickest top layer between 3 layers in the images attached) and to determine the layer thickness in as many regions along the cell layer as possible.
I managed to mark the cell layers using threshold or Weka segmentation, but can’t proceed from that step…any suggestions?
Thanks

Segmentation in OCT imaging
Measuring epithelium thickness using imageJ {HELP]
Accessible surface

@ofirforsht

Perhaps this older Forum post will answer your question?

Let us know either way… we can still help if you have more questions.

eta :slight_smile:

Hi,
Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it.
So I implemented your suggestion and got the local thickness map (I’m attaching the results). Not sure how to proceed:

1. how do I extract the diameter of each local thickness from the map (so I can replace the graphic results with a graph of thickness)
  2. I am only interested in one of the cell layers in the image. Is there a plugin that can help me choose only one of them while erasing the others? this is why I wanted to find a plugin that will find the boundaries of each cell layer…

I encountered this thread and wanted to ask how can I define the boundaries like he did on it. Any clue?
http://imagej.1557.x6.nabble.com/optical-coherence-tomography-OCT-segmentation-ganglion-cell-layer-thickness-td5009735.html

@ofirforsht

No worries! Are you running local thickness on your binarized image? Just follow @imagejan’s steps he mentions in the link I posted (he included helpful links in there as well). Try this first … then we can worry about data output.

eta

@ofirforsht