Align frames in .tiff file derived from 2d photon microscopy of rat brain

Each frame in the .tiff file is imaged at a certain depth of the brain. These frames are not aligned properly. I have so far used ImageJ plugins like MultiStackReg, Linear SIFT, TrackEM2 and such popular applications (mostly with rigid transformation). But, it does not seem effective in correcting the misalignment. I am new to Image processing and wondering if there are better tools for this purpose.
What are the steps to do such alignment with these plugins ? I read that rigid,affine and elastic transformations must be performed in that order. What are some other steps i am missing?

1 Like

Hi @imageproc,

Welcome to the forum.

It would help us understand your issue better if you gave more information, such as:

• What do your images look like? Consider posting them here for us to see
  • What was it about the result that were inadequate? E.g. did the methods you try do nothing? Did they make the alignment better, but just still not good enough? or did they give completely garbage results?
  • What were the exact steps that you used for the various methods? Most of them have parameters that may need changing depending on the particular images to be aligned…

I read that rigid,affine and elastic transformations must be performed in that order.

This helps sometimes, but isn’t always necessary. It’s hard to give a recommendation without knowing more details about your images / goals.

John

2 Likes

@bogovicj thanks for your reply. One detail i have missed is that, the images are from a live animal, so there are motion artifacts. The field of view changes from one frame to the next as the microscope focuses deeper into the tissue along the z-axis.