Adipose tissue: cell surface area

Dear CellProfiler experts,

I am new to CellProfiler and i am impressed by all options this program offers. However, since so many options are available i don’t know where to start… :unamused: I checked out several examples (e.g. human HT29), and also searched this forum, but i could not get these to work for my question… I therefore would appreciate some assistance from the more knowledgeable people in setting up a pipeline.
I have a set of pictures obtained from adipose tissue from mice (HE staining). I would like to know the cell surface area of these cells, and the area frequency distribution. Plz see below for an example of my sections (also attached).

And to make the story complete here the graph i ultimately would like to prepare (panel A, B & C):

Taken from: http://www.jlr.org/cgi/content/full/43/6/986
Unfortunately these authors used a combination of commercial software (photoshop + set of special plugins) we cannot afford…

As said before, i don’t know how to get started so any hints to get me going are very much appreciated, especially how to properly process this color picture for analysis in CP, and how to actually determine the area of all cells.!

TIA,
Guido

Attached is a pipeline which finds the cells and measures their area, so you could create a plot such as the one you show. CellProfiler has a module called ‘DisplayHistogram’ that you can use to create a histogram if you’d like, or you can export the data into Excel.

-Kate
adiposePIPE.mat (1.14 KB)

Thanks very much Kate for providing a pipeline! It is much appreciated.
I’ll check it out and post my findings.

Regards,
Guido

Hi Kate and other experts,

I loaded the pipeline you (Kate) provided, and to understand all steps that take place I applied it to a randomly, selected file. The pipeline is finishing, however, I would appreciate if you could comment on the following (as you will see, i am a noob regarding digital imaging processing…):