Absolute beginner

Hello everyone,
is there anyone I could have quick online support while learning how to use Fiji software?
I’m trying to use its tutorial for IHC DAB. I was not sure which threshold (like Huang, Otsu?) should I choose in the first place, second I encountered the following error saying “the plugin directory is not writable…”
Maybe I can talk on whatssap/ messanger with somebody? I’m completely lost, can’t find any clear guidelines…

3 Likes

Hi @Katarzyna_Kaleta,

can you maybe provide a link to the tutorial you mentioned?

As a general answer to your question: You should try different threshold techniques on a representative set of example images and try to find out which works best on ideally all images. However, in many cases there is no “perfect” method and one has to find a good compromise.

If you work on Windows, it is recommended to put the Fiji installation directory in a place where you have write access as a user (e.g. under Documents) and not in C:\Programs

Last but not least, there is some course material online available for you to get started with Fiji:

http://pcwww.liv.ac.uk/~dnmason/reveal_ia/ImageAnalysisWithFiji.html

Let us know how it goes! We’re happy to help :slight_smile:

Cheers,
Robert

4 Likes

Hello,
thank you for your replay.
I’m just using the tutorial that is available after installing Andy’s Algorithm IHC plugin. With a help of my friend I managed to get over the technical problems, now it works. But I got there while calibration and don’t know what to choose. I really need some step by step assistance… :<WhatsApp Image 2020-01-27 at 20.11.14

I will definitely check your links now! I chose Otsu, but maybe there are some general tips when to choose particular algorithms?

@Katarzyna_Kaleta

You can read more about the Auto Threshold methods here: https://imagej.net/Auto_Threshold