A generic pump device for Micro-Manager (work in progress)

Hello everyone,

Going back to the BDPathway 855 and other high content microscopy systems, I see the need for a generic pump device in Micro-Manager, which can handle “pump like” instruments (that I know of):

There have been efforts to add fluidics to Micro-Manager via plugins (check out the excellent NanoJ-Fluidics from the Henriques lab) but as far as I understand, fluidics devices in these plugins are assembled around direct FreeSerial calls. A much better solution for this would be to write MM device adapters (derived from an appropriate class) that can then be accessed through Java / Beanshell calls to MMCore. These adapters would then log errors and messages to the central corelog, and their initialisation and shutdown methods would be called at appropriate times.

I am not a fluidics expert, so if I’ve missed anything, don’t hesitate to let me know!

What about reusing existing devices?

If you check through the Device Adapters, you will find Mark’s HamiltonMVP adapter for Hamilton Valves. Valves are perfectly handled by a StateDevice + some properties (direction of rotation for example).

A continuous pump would be the same: (on/off states, direction and flow rate as properties). This falls over however if the peristaltic pump is also used to dispense set volumes. Or if you have a syringe pump, you may need to track the volume at all times to know how much liquid can still be aspirated or dispensed.

The (generic) pump device:

Here is a list of methods I think we need to interact with a pump, which aren’t available in other MM devices:

• Methods for aspirating / dispensing liquids (continuously or as a set volume)
  • Method for homing the steppers in a syringe pump and possibly a method for priming the pump?
  • Calibration method (microlitres <-> steps conversion)
  • Setting the flow rate (microlitres / min)