A flexible macro/plug-in for counting different objects in the same photo?

Hi all, I’m a complete imagej newbie so apologies in advance if I’m missing something obvious.

I’ve been tasked with counting several species of animal in aerial photographs. They are difficult to spot and/or determine species so all counting will be done manually. Identified animals may also later be ruled to be a different species than originally assigned, or not an animal at all, so each potential animal must be easily relocated on the photo (individually identified) and a certain degree of flexibility is required. Several people may repeat the count so simplicity is also very helpful.

There may be upwards of 50 individuals in each photo and 3-4 species are possible. I’m working with large (100 Mb) jpegs (composites of several smaller photos) but I can convert them to tiffs if it makes a difference. Anything that I use must be compatible with the Grid plug-in.

The closest plug-in to my needs looks to be Cell Counter. It can assign “types” and the count data can be saved and loaded easily, but it does not count individual objects (i.e. all objects are given a blue 1 rather than blue 1,2,3,…). Point-Picker identifies individual objects but uses colors rather than numbers, while Multi-Point does the individual counting that I need but is not flexible enough if changes need to be made in future (as far as I can tell).

Is there another option that I’ve missed? Is there a straightforward way to modify one of the mentioned plug-ins to do exactly what I need (I of course have little programming experience). Any advice or expertise would be greatly appreciated.

Hello @GMC,

If you use the Cell Counter and click on “Measure…” after selecting all your individual animals, you should have a table with the coordinates of each animal. Moreover, you can simply use the table in a Spreadsheet software to do the counting. Have a look at this example.

Cheers!