3D Spheres Segmentation

Hi, all!

I’m just new to ImageJ and wanted to segment spheres in a stack of thousands of pictures. The particles are the brighter spots and the background is dark.
Yet the stack looks like distorted spheres, but not perfect spheres… Is there any way to fit spheres into the binary images I’ve got? Or possibly any better way to transform the 3d stack into binary images with perfect 3d spheres?

I’ve tried with LimeSeg but it does not work for my images… I also searched in the forum for a long time but still have no idea how I can deal with sphere segmentation, especially when I have so many pictures… Probably I can try trainable weka and find a plugin which can create max inscribed spheres?

Thanks a lot for your help!!

Hello Vvina

It appears your images did not upload correctly.

There could be a few places where the images would lose there “spherical” shape. Possibly due to the microscopy, or maybe just a misconfiguration.

How many spheres do you need to track/locate? What do you want to measure from the spheres afterwards?

Cheers
Matt

Hi Matt,

thanks for your reply!! You can just right click and open the images. There are like thousands of spheres which I need to segment (since there are over a thousand images in a stack). I wanted to measure the porosity and possibly the size, location of spheres afterwards. (but most importantly the porosity…)

And again, thanks a lot for your help!

Vvina

Hey Vvina

You’re right, I could download the images, they didn’t look like links to me and I just though they were normal text.

They’re not 3D images though? How did you create the binary image?

Cheers
Matt

Hi Matt,

I have 1000 images of the same series. So I think that could be considered as a 3D image? I made the binary by using Trainable Weka, but the problem is the circles in binary image do not perfectly really fit into the circles in the raw data…So the generated 3d diagram is a bit distorted…

Cheers
Vvina

Hello Vvina,